You are here

New Zealand

In New Zealand there are two universities participating in the Educating for Equity program, the University of Otago and the The University of Auckland. 

The University of Auckland is the country’s lead Educating for Equity administering institution with Dr. Rhys Jones coordinating New Zealand’s Educating for Equity initiatives.

University of Otago    

The University of Otago is located in the Otago province’s major city of Dunedin. The University was established in 1869 and was the first University in New Zealand and now has campuses in Dunedin, Southland, Christchurch, Wellington, and Auckland. 


 The University Of Auckland 

The University of Auckland is located in the North Island of New Zealand. The University was established in 1883 and now has seven campuses in and around the city of Auckland. 

Click here for more information about The University of Auckland’s Educating for Equity initiatives and for staff biographies. 

          Te Kupenga Hauora Māori  (TKHM) 

Te Kupenga Hauora Māori (TKHM) is located in the School of Population Health, Tamaki Campus. TKHM coordinates teaching in  Māori health across the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences and externally, spanning foundation, undergraduate and postgraduate education. There is also a focus on building capacity and developing appropriate teaching practices in Māori health throughout the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences.